Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Applied Mathematics: LaTex training materials and other math resources

Library resources to support the study and research of the CEMSE division at KAUST.

LaTex and Wolfram Math free tools

The LaTex Project

Provide software and training for Latex.


LaTex training materials by Dr. Christos Saragiotis

Find under the top blue bar titled "Documentation." 

LaTex video tutorials

14 short video lessons on using LaTex.

Wolfram MathWorld

Mathematical resource that connects the math and education communities and serves as a clearinghouse for new discoveries contributed by researchers.  Created and maintained by the maker of Mathematica software.

Other Resources

arXiv.org

Open access to 668,955+ e-preprints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. 

Recent UCLA Computational and Applied Mathematics Reports

Indexes recent papers from UCLA's mathematics program.  Some reports and abstracts are available for download.

Numerical Recipes Online

Online access to Numerical Recipes books in C++, Fortran 77 and Fortran 90, and more.  These titles are publicly available, although some have printing limits.

American Mathematical Society Online Books

The AMS makes selected titles available via this portal.  Searches can be done by author or by subject.  PDF files can be downloaded and may contain corrections that do not appear in the print version.

Project Euclid Open Access Journals

The 17 journals found here are freely available via Project Euclid.  (We also subscribe to the Euclid Prime paid journals--see Journals tab).  Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.

Indiana University Mathematics Journal

Open access to all issues older than the current five years.  Journal covers mathematics and mechanics.

Directory of Open Access Journals (Mathematics) 

Open access scholarly journals in Mathematics and Statistics that report primary results of research or overviews of research results.

Jahrbuch Database AKA the Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics (ERAM)

This free resource has two parts, a literature database based on the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik from 1886- 1942; and digitised archive of mathematical publications from the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen.

BibTex instructions

Bibtex.org :  learn how to use Bibtex, Bibtex File format and BibTex tools

Rough guide to BibTex (by Jenny Williams and hosted at the University of Manchester) 

Geometry in Action

Geometry In Action

This website is compiled by a professor of CS at University of California--Irvine, with the intent of providing brief descriptions of ideas from discrete and computational geometry (meaning mainly low-dimensional Euclidean geometry) applications, how they interact with real world applications, and the geometric questions arising from them.   It also points to web pages on the applications themselves and on their geometric connections.