EndNote: Helpful "How-to's" in EndNote

How to Annotate PDF Files

Want to know how to use your EndNote 21 to the fullest? Activating your sync account gives you exclusive access to the brand new EndNote Web, Cite While You Write for Google Docs, reference recovery, retraction alerts and more.

1. In EndNote, go to the Edit menu (or EndNote menu on the macOS) and select Preference > Sync Preferences.
2. Click the Enable Sync button to go to the EndNote online Login dialog.
3. Click the Sign Up button to begin the registration and activation process. Follow the on-screen instructions to complete your signup. Be sure to note your login and password, as you will need these to log in to the new EndNote Web (http://web.endnote.com) and your Cite While You Write for Google Docs .

How to Create a Stand-Alone Bibliography

There are several ways to create a formatted bibliography using EndNote™. If you do not need to use in-text citations or footnotes, it is often easiest to create a stand-alone bibliography. EndNote provides three ways to do this:

Subject Bibliography Method

Use this method to select references from your EndNote library based on one or more fields in your references. This method allows you to list references multiple times by keyword, author, or any other field that you choose.

Select the Output Style you wish to use for your bibliography (APA, Chicago, etc.).
Go to Tools/Subject Bibliography.
Select the field(s) which you would like to use as criteria for your bibliography (such as author or journal).
Select the record(s) you would like to have in your bibliography.
Click "OK" to create your bibliography.
Select Layout to modify how your bibliography will display.
Choose Save to save as a text file, RTF file (Word compatible), or HTML (web page). You can also print without saving the file.

Export Method

Select the Output Style you wish to use for your bibliography (APA, Chicago, etc.).
Select the references you want to include in your bibliography.
Select References/Show Selected References.
Sort your references so they appear in your desired order.

Select File/Export and select a file type - text, RTF (Word compatible) or HTML (web page) Click okay and your bibliography is created as a new file. Note the XML format will not print in your selected style, but XML.

Copy Formatted/Paste Method

Select the Output Style you wish to use for your bibliography (APA, Chicago, etc.).
Select the references you want to include in your bibliography.
Select References/Show Selected References.
Sort your references so they appear in your desired order.
Click the Edit menu and select Copy Formatted. In EndNote 20, go to References Menu and select Copy Formatted Reference.
Open your document.
Click Paste.

For more information on Copy Formatted feature in EndNote X6 and later, please refer to:

Note: These methods provide a quick and easy way to create a bibliography or works cited list. However, if you want to create in-text citations or footnotes as well as your bibliography, you will need to use the EndNote Cite While You Write feature.